Tags

, , , ,

I’d sent an E-mail to my Italian class asking if they might pro-rate my tuition since I’d definitely be missing the last two sessions due to travel. They pro-rated one of my other semesters with no problems. This time, however, I didn’t hear back from them the same day or the next or the next. While I was eagerly checking my E-mail every hour, the instructor had called and left a message on my voice mail at work. By the time I got that voice mail, the semester had already begun and I’d already missed the first class. Missing three of eight classes is nearly half the semester, so I opted to take this semester off after all. Besides, do I really need to spend the money for tuition right after returning from Paris? Probably not! My fear is that I won’t sign up for Italian again or that, if I do, my language skills will have declined so dramatically that I’ll be unable to understand what’s going on in class! In the meantime, I will TRY to study Italian on my own, as in doing exercises from my workbooks on a regular basis and using the Italian program that’s downloaded to my laptop. Speaking of which, I’m still in charge of getting everyone (all 4 of us, plus the teacher) together at some Italian restaurant/bar where we can harass the waiters/waitresses/bartenders with our phenomenally bad Italian! They shouldn’t have left the organizing part of it to a procrastinator! (And NO, I do NOT know how to say that in Italian!)

Then again, there’s always YouTube. I find this one most useful!