Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Did you hear about the easy way to color Easter eggs using silk?  All you need is old silk scarves (or old silk dresses, old silk shirts or silk left over from sewing something), some white fabric and white vinegar.  Cut squares from both the silk and the white fabric.  Take each egg and wrap it tightly in a silk square, then wrap that with the white fabric and tie it with a twisty (like those used for bread loaves).  Put the eggs in a non-reactive metal pot, cover with water, add three tablespoons of white vinegar and boil for 15 minutes.  Once finished, remove the eggs, allow them to cool, unwrap them and – voila! – beautifully decorated Easter eggs.

I was also reading about Easter traditions in France.  While we here in the United States have the Easter bunny, apparently in France there are Cloches de Paques or Easter Bells.  According to the article, church bells in France are silenced the Thursday before Easter.  During this time, they fly to Rome to visit the Pope.  Say what?!  Once their Vatican visit is finished, they stop off at the market to load up with chocolate, which they drop in the baskets of deserving children on Easter Eve.  By Easter morning, the Cloches de Paques are back home and ready to summon you to Mass!  I prefer the Easter bunny, or at least some chicks or a lamb, to bring my chocolate to me, but I won’t complain, as long as I’m getting chocolate.

The best part of Easter is the end of Lent.  For me, that means I’m going to be in potato chip heaven in a few days!!!