Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

What am I referring to?  On-line dating, of course!  I dipped my toe back into it, which is to say that I read my messages and occasionally (but very rarely) answer one or two.  Someone might actually intrigue me now and then, but trying to schedule a meet-up is the next step.  If we can’t make it work within two tries (or I lose interest), then I don’t make any other effort ’cause, frankly, Scarlett, I don’t give a damn!  I didn’t bother to meet a single guy from an on-line dating website in 2014.  There was an attempt to meet one in September, before my big vacation, but our schedules were conflicting.  After that, I didn’t care.  I might possibly meet someone the weekend after this, but that’s still no guarantee.  I’ve been thinking of forcing myself to go out with someone younger for fun, with no strings attached.  Even for that, there would have to be some kind of chemistry.  I’m not feeling it via our messages, but you never know.  It’s a new year, so I should at least give someone a shot!  There seem to be 3 types of men that proliferate the site – (1) men that are in my age vicinity that look much older than they are, (2) men who are middle-aged that are bitter from their previous relationships (and also have children) and (3) much younger, hot guys who want to hook up.  I can’t see myself with any of those types.

My best friend from my years in L.A. now lives in Phoenix.  We worked at the same company in L.A. and discovered, due to a big pink pencil on her desk, that we both shopped at Betsey Johnson.  Thus began our reign of terror in L.A. – shopping on Melrose, checking out the guys at the beaches and drinking anywhere/everywhere.  She eventually married someone in the industry and settled down, even popping out two kids.  When she was pregnant with the first one, she once asked me “How can I possibly be a mother?  I’m too damned selfish!”  We laughed at the time, but she turned out to be one of the best mothers out there.  It’s years later and her husband and she are no more.  We’re not in contact that much any more, either, but she DID tell me that she’s met some interesting characters through on-line dating in the Phoenix area.  She’s currently dating someone that has lots in common with her, mainly music and travel.  However, she encouraged me to hook up with the younger guys, saying they’re fun once in awhile.  She seems to be having better luck at it than me.  Then again, we tend to have widely varying tastes in men.  🙂

My cousin in Austin dabbles quite a bit in on-line dating when she’s between men.  She seems to do about fifty-fifty on the duds and the decent ones.  Her current beau was met through a mutual friend, however, if I remember correctly.

Lastly, an Aussie friend of mine is on several on-line dating websites.  She tends to meet up with lots of guys, but none of them seem to last more than a couple of dates.  She hasn’t given up, though.  Of course, she’s younger than the aforementioned and myself, so she’s got more energy to deal with the riff raff!

An ex asked me if I was looking to get married again.  Not really, but never say “Never.”  After all of these years, I’ve come to the conclusion that I still love the same two men from more than 25 years ago.  I ended the relationship with one (for reasons that shall remain private) and basically “ran away” from the second man (also for reasons that shall remain private).  I convinced myself over the years that I was moving on and moving up.  Yet, lately, I think I was wrong – dead wrong.  I found out that both men still love me and my love for them is still the same, too.  In fact, it may even be deeper ’cause I appreciate them more now.  Is it ever too late?  I’m hoping not.

In the meantime, I’ll still think about that younger guy that’s been wanting to meet up.  I don’t think there’s going to be a love connection.  And I REALLY don’t think there’s going to be a boinking connection, either.  I’d settle for a friend, though.

P.S. A college buddy and I are also trying to reconnect.  We haven’t seen each other in years, but are tentatively setting up a lunch date in a few weeks.  He was like a brother to me…  until one night when we got drunk and made out!  Although he’s married and has two college-age kids now, this should be interesting!