Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Getting older basically sucks!  The gray hair, the weight gain, being tired, becoming a homebody, etc., etc., and so on.  After making a mess in the bathroom/kitchen area when trying to dye my hair, I’ve decided that it really is worth the extra expense to have it done professionally.  Every six weeks my hair is colored/dyed at the Cinta Aveda Institute by students who are training to become hair stylists.  There are three levels of students; Alpha, Beta and Gamma.  I always ask for a Beta or Gamma student, although it would be relatively difficult to mess up dying someone’s hair black!  The weight gain could have come from me not going to the gym for 3 months!  However, I’ve been back at the gym for 3 weeks now, working out harder than ever before and my weight goes up and down by about two lbs., no matter what I do.  Usually I lose 3 or 4 lbs. after 2 weeks at the gym and it stays off. My metabolism seems to have stopped altogether!  The being tired part is kind of solved by my taking a nap BEFORE I go to the gym (around 10:00 or 11:00 p.m.)!  Yes, I’m that decrepit!  The homebody stuff doesn’t bother me all that much.  I’m home behaving myself and NOT spending money.

Getting back to this weight business, Lent is approaching within the next month.  My sacrifices will be much the same as last year – no potato chips, no cupcakes, no sodas.  For a person who loves junk food, those are major sacrifices.  Last year I also gave up shoe shopping.  I couldn’t possibly get any more shoes in my room at this point, so I’m thinking of giving up ALL shopping, other than for food and basic necessities, during Lent.  Since my weight is stubbornly sticking to me, I might even go out on a limb and give up candy, sweets or sugars of any kind.  Although I’ve always preferred salt to sugar, I have to indulge in gummi bears, a Mounds bar or some hot tamales (the candy) every so often.  In fact, one of the guys in the office and I routinely buy each other gummi candy for no reason whatsoever.  I’ll arrive in the morning to a bag of gummi frogs or what-have-you on my desk.  Whenever I make that snack dash to Walgreens out of sheer boredom, I pick up some gummi clown fish or gummi cherries or whatever for him as well.

Speaking of which, I got the two attorneys hooked on cupcakes from the CupKates truck, as well as macarons from Chantal Guillon.  As my main boss was departing last Thursday, he mentioned to me that, if he drove to work the next day (as opposed to taking BART), we might have to go get some “French cookies,” which he affectionately calls macarons.  Of course, when I got to work last Friday morning, he’d sent an E-mail saying that he’d taken the day off because he didn’t want me to have to eat macarons.  My reply was “That was very thoughtful of you.  It’s not as if I needed them these days, anyway.”  His next E-mail said “Yeah, I’m feeling like a really good person.”  I ended our E-mail conversation by saying that I’d still partake of macarons before Lent, but wouldn’t have him to blame on Friday.

That’s my plan for weight loss; Lent.  If this killing myself at the gym isn’t going to pay off in my old age, then Lent has GOT to give me a boost.  I’ll be sticking to an austere diet of fruit, salads, tea and the occasional red meat.  Somehow it’s easier for me to abstain from those things during Lent than it is at any other time of the year.  I guess when the chances of Him paying particular attention are raised, I’m more likely to behave!  Wish me luck!